Passionate

beans andfruit

Pleasingly purple fruit

Part of the quest to only plant food or medicinal plants in the back garden raised a quandary – what to cover the functional but godawful colourbond fence with. We settled on passionfruit vines – a golden, and a regular. Not having grown one before, I somewhat rashly planted two, close together, and now have a pleasingly tangled mass of plants crawling over both sides of the fence. Much to my neighbours’ delight, as she likes to make passionfruit curd. It’s strangling everything in the beds in front of the fence too, but hey ho, that’s what vigorous use of secateurs is for.fence and fruit

Fence. And fruit. Mostly fence.

As another rainy weekend loomed, I grabbed the fruit I’ve saved up in the fridge and made some curd of my own, using a Stephanie Alexander recipe of eggs, sugar and butter.

The result, a small batch of coma inducingly sweet curd which, as is necessary when cooking jams & preserves, I’ve devoured wholesale from the still warm inside of the pan, swirling my bread through the thick sugary globs and basically eating myself stupid. I’m still buzzing slightly from the aftereffects of of the sugar rush. I’m not sure it will last until it’s cooled enough to refrigerate…

IMG_6868

4 thoughts on “Passionate

  1. Sounds divine – did it have that slightly sour tang that passion fruit has or did the sugar over that ? I rather like that shuddery feeling – like eating sour sweets !

    • Disappointingly no, not a sour tang, and in fact I think overall it’s actually too sweet. If I make more I’ll add a lemon or some juice; I guess my homegrown passion fruit must just be comparatively sweet?
      As to shuddery sweets – m&s fizzy fish!

Leave a Reply

