Glut

Glut. Such an emotive word, isn’t it? Speaks not only of plenty, but of voluptuous over provision. Glut. Glutton.

cherry1

Here, it’s more towards the over provision, in the form of a shed load of tomatoes. This year I had a fair few plants self seed from last season, so I transplanted them all to their final location (gotta keep em moving in the name of crop rotation), not realising they were all cherry tomatoes. Only one solitary beef master type plant – so I suppose that tells me which was the more vigorous strain – and no roma.

What the heck, I thought, how bad can cherry tomato passata be? The answer is….not bad at all!

Ingredients

  • Tomatoes
  • Salt

Method

Wash tomatoes thoroughly, halve and place in a large pan, with some salt (to taste). Bring to the boil – liquid will ooze out of the fruit pretty quickly, but make sure it doesn’t catch while it’s warming up. Cook for 15 minutes or so, or until the tomatoes are soft and pulpy.cherry2

Use a mouli chery3to separate the skin and seeds from the pulp, cherry4then pour into sterilised jars. Ta da!cherryfinal

If I were keeping the passata for years, I might cover the jars in water, bring to the boil and simmer for a further 30 minutes, but I’m planning on these being used quite quickly, so I shan’t worry.

Leave a Reply

