Daffodils

???????????????????????????????To paraphrase a well known fantasy series, Spring is Coming. In my garden, the only non edible thing I’ve planted – my daffodils – are forming flower buds, and swelling towards blooming:

???????????????????????????????

I adore daffs. They remind me of my homeland, of true season change,  where there’s  an actual difference between winter and spring; not just the turn of a calendar page. That moment when you open a window and smell the change in the air; take your coat off after 10 minutes because you realise you don’t actually need it any more; notice the greening of the trees; all these things are summed up in that one little bulb straining it’s way into the light and waving it’s perfect little yellow flower at me.

Leave a Reply

