Ryo’s, Crow’s Nest

IMG-20130321-00820One day last week we headed out for noodles as a special treat for lunch. I love a bowl of ramen, but it is a pretty solid hit of wheat, so I try not to overindulge. Every now and then though, it is A Noodle Day. This time we went that little bit out of our way, and revisited Ryo’s, in Crow’s Nest.

There’s something a bit special about pushing your way through those decorated curtains (Noren), advertising the delights within. I also love it when I’m about the only Euro in a café of full of devotees of a particular cuisine. Makes me think I’m in on a local secret. Although it’s not my first visit to Ryo’s, I haven’t been for a while, and it was good to soak in the atmosphere of this little café afresh.

ryos crop

I chose the Pork Soup No2, Ramen in soy sauce flavoured soup, with roast pork, nori, egg and shallots. The all important broth was rich, salty and thick, though a little oilier than I would have preferred. It was utterly delicious, though not the low saturated fat health food I’m meant to be eating these days! I could taste a good, plain, pork bones base and a good salt flavour. The nori comes standing proud from the soup, half lining the inside of the bowl. Some of the toppings were still a little cold, but the super hot soup warmed them through eventually.

IMG-20130321-00821

Even knowing my bowl was going to be huge, I still ordered a pork bun special as a side, just to try. I love a pork bun; squidging the sweetish white soft dough happily in my paws. But I do find the fillings of the Chinese versions too sugary and shiny. Ryo’s version was refreshingly undyed (no gloopy red stuff) and actually tasted of delicately spiced pork. Lovely.

IMG-20130321-00822

Another in our group asked for the special – not on the menu, this was a slightly spicier version of the same pork bones stock, with extra egg and pork slices.

IMG-20130321-00819

Being a chap of appetite, he also ordered the extra noodles – approx $3. No idea how he does it – after half of mine I had to be rolled from the premises, burping contentedly. 

Address: 125 Falcon St, North Sydney NSW 2060

Phone:(02) 9955 0225

Leave a Reply

